You are here: Home > News & Events

ACSTI Welcomes New Members

Date: 05 July 2011 

The Forfás Board, is delighted to announce the appointment of Dr David Lloyd, Dean of Research, Molecular Design Group founder and Hitachi Lecturer in Advanced Computing, School of Biochemistry and Immunology, Trinity College Dublin; Kevin O'Leary, Chief Executive Officer, Qumas and Julie O'Neill, Vice President, Operations and General Manager, Gilead Sciences Ltd as members of the Advisory Council on Science, Technology and Innovation.

Welcoming the appointment of the new members to the Council, Eoin O'Driscoll, Chairman, Forfás Board commented "We are very pleased that David, Kevin and Julie have agreed to join the Advisory Council on Science, Technology and Innovation and that they bring their experience as science, technology and innovation practitioners to the work of the Council."

Tom McCarthy, Chairman, ACSTI said, "The Council's current work programme focuses on three substantial projects; examining models of research centres compatible with sustainability, participating in the national Research Prioritisation Project, and coordinating the development of a national view on the upcoming Common Strategic Framework for Research and Innovation Funding 2014-2020 (successor to FP7), Europe's largest research funding programme. Having additional members of this calibre and wealth of on the ground experience will contribute significantly towards achieving the Council's goals."