You are here: Home > News & Events

New Members appointed to the Advisory Science Council

Date: 09 September 2009 

The Forfás Board has appointed Prof Tom McCarthy as Chair Designate of the Advisory Science Council (ASC). Tom will take over from Ms Mary Cryan as Chair of the Council from November 2009. Tom is Chief Executive of the Irish Management Institute and has been a member of the Council since its foundation in 2005.

The Forfás Board has also made the following appointments to the membership of the Council.

  • Ms Marion Coy,  President Galway Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT)
  • Prof Brian MacCraith, Director of the Biomedical Diagnostics Institute (BDI) and Professor in Physics at Dublin City University.
  • Mr Martin Shanahan, Divisional Manager, Forfás replaces Mr Martin Cronin, former CEO, Forfás as a member of the Council. 

Related Links